Finalists announced: Mies van der Rohe Award 2011.

One of the following six finalists will be awarded the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture, also known as the Mies van der Rohe Award. The finalists are: David Chipperfield Architects for Neues Museum in Berlin; MDMA for Bronks Youth Theatre in Belgium; Zaha Hadid Architects for MAXXI (shown above) in Italy; Ateliers Jean Nouvel for Concert House Danish Radio in Denmark; Bernard Tschumi Architects for Acropolis Museum in Greece; and Koen van Velsen for Rehabilitation Centre Groot Klimmendaal in The Netherlands. The ceremony will be held on June 20 at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona.