Call for entries: The 2017 DWR Champagne Chair Contest.

Processed with VSCOcam with q1 preset
Last year’s winners for Most Original. Chairs by Irisa Xiong, Leah K.S. Amick and Yukie Snowcha.

LOOKING FOR THE 2018 CHAMPAGNE CHAIR CONTEST? This post contains information about the 2017 contest, which was held a year ago. The 2018 contest begins December 18, 2017, although nothing says you can’t begin working on your entry now. For more details about the 2018 contest, visit the official web page.

Be the toast of the town! To enter, create a miniature chair using only the foil, label, cage and cork from no more than two champagne bottles. The top 20 finalists will be selected via Popular Vote, and then four winners will be chosen by a panel of DWR champagne and chair experts.

Prizes will be awarded in two categories: Most Original and Best Likeness.

MOST ORIGINAL: This is your chance to impress us by creating a chair unlike anything we’ve ever seen. That might mean it’s crazy cool or shockingly simple, but either way it has to be authored by you, not borrowed from another designer from the past or present. Note: We get a toilet chair every year. It never wins. Think outside the outhouse.

Processed with VSCOcam with q1 preset
Last year’s winner for Best Likeness. Chair by James Martell.

BEST LIKENESS: Celebrate your passion for a chair that already exists in the real world by creating your own miniature version. Whether it’s an Eames Lounge Chair or an Arne Jacobsen Egg Chair or some other fabulous classic, dazzle us by creating the best likeness of the chair you love.

The deadline for submissions is January 8. Learn more at